Kurt Elling, Live In Concert: Newport Jazz 2012

Written by Patrick Jarenwattananon from WGBH Radio

A classic male singer, Kurt Elling has an old-school vibe to everything from his mannered stage banter to his declamatory, full-chested delivery. But he isn’t afraid to write brainy, twisty lyrics over an obscure jazz number, or take a pop song back to the drawing board. He can do a lot with his voice, you see, and the band featuring long-time collaborator Laurence Hobgood, a pianist, helps to set the stage.

Set List
  • “Come Fly With Me”
  • “Dedicated To You”
  • “On Broadway”
  • “Waking”
  • “Skylark”
  • “Golden Lady”
  • Kurt Elling, voice
  • Laurence Hobgood, piano
  • John McLean, guitar
  • Clark Sommers, bass
  • Kendrick Scott, drums
Copyright 2012 WGBH Radio. To see more, visit http://www.wgbh.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *