Ryan Truesdell’s Gil Evans Centennial Project, Live In Concert: Newport Jazz 2012

Written by Patrick Jarenwattananon from National Public Radio

What if there were lost big-band masterpieces by the great composer/arranger Gil Evans which never made it to record? In fact, there are plenty of them, according to composer/arranger Ryan Truesdell. He’s culled, researched, transcribed and completed a handful of the best for Evans’ 100th birthday anniversary. It helps that he’s the lead copyist for composer Maria Schneider; he’s borrowed much of her orchestra to record and now perform this rich, intensely-hued material.

Set List
  • “Dancing On A Great Big Rainbow”
  • “How About You?”
  • “Punjab”
  • “Look To The Rainbow”
  • “Concorde”
  • “Ballad Of The Sad Young Men”
  • “Sister Sadie”
  • Ryan Truesdell, arranger/conductor
  • Steve Wilson, alto saxophone/woodwinds
  • Charles Pillow, alto saxophone/woodwinds
  • Rich Perry, tenor saxophone/woodwinds
  • Donny McCaslin, tenor saxophone/woodwinds
  • Scott Robinson, baritone saxophone/woodwinds
  • Michael Rabinowitz, bassoon
  • Adam Unsworth, french horn
  • David Peel, french horn
  • Tony Kadleck, trumpet
  • Greg Gisbert, trumpet
  • Laurie Frink, trumpet
  • Ryan Keberle, trombone
  • Marshall Gilkes, trombone
  • George Flynn, trombone
  • Marcus Rojas, tuba
  • Ben Monder, guitar
  • Frank Kimbrough, piano
  • Jay Anderson, bass
  • Michael Truesdell, percussion
  • Lewis Nash, drums
  • Dan Weiss, tabla
  • Dave Eggar, tenor violin
  • Gretchen Parlato, voice
Copyright 2012 National Public Radio. To see more, visit http://www.npr.org/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *