Gregory Porter: Newport Jazz 2014

Written by Patrick Jarenwattananon from NPR

The commanding singer Gregory Porter likes a good aqueous metaphor. He named his first album Water and led off with the title track. Then he called his latest album Liquid Spirit, which he released following last year’s ecstatic Newport show. (He sang that title track, too, with its bouncy hand-clap exhortations.)

Porter returned to Newport this year on the festival’s main stage, delivering a triumphant set that spanned his whole repertoire. And, appropriately enough, he cut through day-long rain showers during his performance on Saturday, August 2.

Set List
  • “Water”
  • “On My Way To Harlem”
  • “No Love Dying”
  • “Liquid Spirit”
  • “Wolfcry”
  • “Work Song”
  • “(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons”/”You Send Me”
  • “1960 What?”

Gregory Porter, voice; Tivon Pennicott, tenor saxophone; Chip Crawford, piano; Aaron James, bass; Emanuel Harrold, drums

Copyright 2014 NPR. To see more, visit

1 thought on “Gregory Porter: Newport Jazz 2014

  1. I received this “jazztism” by Gregory Porter at the festival.The weather was foul but Mr. Porter made the sun shine in our hearts. He is my new jazz favorite. Thank you for making this music available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *