Aaron Parks On Piano Jazz

Written by from NPR

A true prodigy, pianist Aaron Parks was still in his teens when he was Marian McPartland‘s guest for this 2001 session. That year, he placed first in the fifth American Jazz Piano Competition, landing the Cole Porter Fellowship. He went on to place third in the 2006 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Piano Competition and has built a prolific career as a performer and recording artist.

On this episode of Piano Jazz, Parks performs Cole Porter’s “Miss Otis Regrets” and several other standards.

Originally broadcast in the fall of 2001.

Set List
  • “Miss Otis Regrets” (Porter)
  • “Alone Together” (Dietz, Schwartz)
  • “Sweet And Lovely” (Arnheim, Daniels, Tobias)
  • “Every Time We Say Goodbye” (Porter)
  • “There’ll Never Be Another You” (Gordon, Warren)
  • “Dancing By Myself” (Parks)
  • Free Piece (McPartland, Parks)
  • “In The Days Of Our Love” (Lee, McPartland)
  • “Anthropology” (Bishop, Gillespie, Parker)
Copyright 2016 NPR. To see more, visit http://www.npr.org/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *